On Personal Relationships with Your Lord and Savior

The ever-popular Buddy Jesus

The ever-popular Buddy Jesus

Before I write this, you should know that if you asked me to identify (label?) my religious beliefs, the word “evangelical” would definitely be an important word in the wandering, discombobulated half-sentence that came in reply.  I am an evangelical—depending on what you mean by the term.  But it is a word I claim for my identity.

But here’s my question—and this has been bugging me.  We evangelicals are, you know, Bible-believing Christians, right?  That’s where we get our ideas, our theologies, our convictions, right?

So, where in the Bible does it talk about having a personal relationship with Jesus Christ?  Why have we chosen this phrase as our primary image for salvation, indeed, as our rallying cry, our slogan?

If I may be so bold: is it because it distracts us from the more difficult task of actually following Jesus?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to On Personal Relationships with Your Lord and Savior

  1. youngromantic says:

    Yikes. But what would that MEAN, to actually follow Jesus? I’m curious to know your thoughts.

    • urbanfall says:

      Wouldn’t a start be, say, to take up the Sermon on the Mount as an authoritative teaching for Christians? It seems like it’s right there in the front part of the New Testament for a good reason, but a lot of Protestants, especially, seem all-too-eager to kind of brush it under the rug on principle of the whole grace vs. works debate.

      Blessed are the poor in spirit, the meek, those who mourn, those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, the pure in heart, and so on.

      Or how about, if someone asks for your cloak, give him your shirt as well? I’ve yet to hear any substantial debate as to what this teaching means for Christians today, but it would seem like we would be more concerned with how to best follow the word of Christ, as, you know, Christians.

  2. fin says:

    i am probably well beyond naive for even trying this on you, as in my world you are my guy-in-the-van, so to speak, as i infiltrate the realm of religion (to borrow some enemy of the state imagery),
    but,
    couldn’t it be said that gringos like you (or gentiles, whatever fun g word you prefer) weren’t ever supposed to follow jesus in the first place?
    the argument, and a compelling one at that, has been made that all the nice things jesus said really only applied to those of the jewish persuasion. if he had known that paul(?) was planning on going public with all of this, jesus would have been rolling over in his gr…
    ok wow, that kind of sentence really does not work with jesus. or osiris dionisis, or any other of the kats that rose from the dead.
    but you get the point. one that doesn’t entirely relate to the explicit purpose of your post, but something worth mentioning, nonetheless.

  3. Pingback: On Following Jesus « Of City Streets and Falling Leaves

  4. Eric says:

    Great question! I grew up hearing the words “personal relationship” and made a decision when I was 6. but a few years ago, I actually started following Him (in total desperation, I might add–I was at the end of myself). Only then, did I find out what a personal relationship with Jesus truly was.

Leave a Reply

