The Working Poor

So . . . I just finished this book by David Shipler, called The Working Poor.  It was, for the most part, excellent.  The guy won a Pulitzer for his work on Israel/Palestine, Arab and Jew, which has a place on my reading list now, too.  I was supposed to have read it for my Community Economic Development class in the winter, but, well . . . you know how that goes.  It’s not that these books aren’t worth reading, it’s that they are, and I refuse to just force the book open, get the information I need, and toss it casually aside on the bed.

Actually, that’s exactly what I did, but I promised I’d come back later to give it the attention it deserves, and I’m a man of my word.  Anyway, if you’re at all interested in working with or in just better understanding people in poverty (which, you know, you should be), you should check it out.  300 pages, sure, but very well-written and even, at points, gripping.

I’ll be blogging about it more soon; consider this an introductory post to those thoughts.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

