Life Update

OK, I decided to come back to rock the old haunts just one last time.  I’ll tell you one thing that has been nice: driving.  Carbon emissions be damned.  I love driving.  Mostly it’s because of listening to music while driving, and singing along very loudly.  Today it was this:

[Update: I tried to embed the video, but embedding isn’t allowed, I guess.  Link to Weezer’s “Buddy Holly” here.]

Actually, I’m not sure I like that video, but only because its sarcasm undercuts the playfulness of the lyrics.  But the song is bouncing around in my head and won’t seem to come out.  “What’s with these homies dissin’ my girl?  Why do they gotta front?  What did we ever do to these guys to make them so violent?”

Anyway, so I’m here, and I guess it’s not too bad.  I’ve got some old friends I’ve been wanting to see.  I get to see the girl much more often, which is also nice.  Her dad’s giving me pretty steady work so far: today I masked off the exterior of a house to get it ready to paint.  Tomorrow, so I’m told, I’m digging a really big hole.  On top of that, my friend should be able to hook me up with a job at Papa John’s so I can actually make money on top of what I need to pay rent on the house I’m not currently staying in.

Friday night I think I’m going to try to convince my youngest brother to stay up ridiculously late with me, a twelve-pack of Mountain Dew, and Rock Band 2.  We’ll see if it works.  I asked him about it and I think he appreciated the gesture, if nothing else.  So that’s progress with him.  The other one, I’m not sure how to reach.  I think things will go more slowly in that department, just because he’s not around as much and has other things on his mind.  Things will probably slow with my dad too.  And if I can help my mom unwind by keeping the kitchen spotless and cleaning up after myself, plus some extras here or there (it needs to be enough to be noticeable), I’ll be golden.

It’s funny, because at school I take it for granted that relationships require investment, so I’m very intentional about them.  With my SMCs this year, especially, I tried to figure out what they needed and then I tried to help them in any way I can.  So the question I was asking myself in those relationships was, “How can I serve this person in this moment?”  But I found that the question I all-too-often ask at home is, “What do I need/want out of this relationship?”  Hmm . . . sometimes simply asking the right questions can start a small revolution in your life.

Ooo-wee-ooo, I look just like Buddy Holly!

Oh-oh!  And you’re Mary Tyler Moore.

Anyway . . . signing off for now.

This entry was posted in Family, Life, Vancouver and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

