My Greatest Fear

My friend Lindsey’s dad is the founder and CEO of a social justice organization.  I wrote him an email today asking for a summer job, more or less.  Some kind of internship (don’t worry Ben, if it happens we’ll figure something out).

The question I started to ask myself when writing the email was, am I motivated to do this because I want to love the people in Uganda or India or wherever, or because I’m afriad of being stuck working a 9-to-5 job this summer?  More simply, are my actions motivated by love or by fear?  If they’re by fear, then I will surely fail, unless God saves me from myself.

Funny how much of what I consider ambition might be nothing more than the fear of mediocrity.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

