A Flood of Justice?

Alas for you who desire the day of the LORD!
         Why do you want the day of the LORD?
     It is darkness, not light;
    as if someone fled from a lion,
         and was met by a bear;
     or went into the house and rested a hand against the wall,
         and was bitten by a snake.
 Is not the day of the LORD darkness, not light,
         and gloom with no brightness in it? I hate, I despise your festivals,
         and I take no delight in your solemn assemblies.
 Even though you offer me your burnt offerings and grain offerings,
         I will not accept them;
     and the offerings of well-being of your fatted animals
         I will not look upon.
 Take away from me the noise of your songs;
         I will not listen to the melody of your harps.
 But let justice roll down like waters,
         and righteousness like an ever-flowing stream.

Amos 5:18-24

This entry was posted in Music, Poverty, Religion, Theology, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Flood of Justice?

  1. ben adam says:

    This is just wonderful.

Leave a Reply

